RSS

Happy Birthday

14 Sep

Each morning, when I log into Facebook, I always check which of my friends are celebrating birthdays. Then, I post a birthday message on each wall. I try to customize it, especially if it’s a close friend or relative. If I’m a casual acquaintance or a long distant classmate, I’ll still post a simple “Happy birthday.” I never just type “HB” BTW.

I know a lot of people who don’t do this, and there’s certainly no Facebook custom or edict from Emily Post’s Netiquette. They just don’t want to bother with it. Some people even disable their wall for the day so that people can’t post messages on their birthday. And, yes, many people over the last true celebratory milestone age of 25* would rather not face their birthday each year.

For some friends, especially those who have moved away, it’s my once-a-year reminder to check in and see how they’re doing.

This daily ritual of mine didn’t begin when a preponderance of warm greetings encountered me on the last occasion of my birth. I’d rather think that these posts just reinforced it. But I don’t do this for the “give to get” mentality.

It’s just a nice, simple thing to do.

*Turning 25 is significant only in the fact that you can officially rent a car with less hassle and your automobile insurance rates usually decrease.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2011 in Better Practices, Hire me Already!

 

Leave a Reply

 
